Giving In to the Ultrasound

Leave a comment

July 11, 2010 by Sarah Christine Bolton

So, last week, the midwives were concerned that I hadn’t gained any belly inches, and they thought maybe the baby wasn’t big enough. We decided to get an ultrasound, just to make sure everything was okay.

Everything was great. Baby weighed 6 pounds, 11 ounces with a couple weeks to grow. And we found out that we are having a girl. I was super surprised. I had been convinced that it was a boy. Needless to say, it took me a couple days to recover from the shock, but I’m just happy that the baby is healthy, has a spine, brain, etc. and is hopefully coming out very, very soon.

Yesterday was just one of those I-really-don’t-know-if-I-can-do-this kind of days. I posted something on Facebook about how I was realizing that I would never be myself again. The cool thing is that a ton of friends (women who have just given birth recently) just poured some love and support out to me. I felt overwhelmed by it and incredibly encouraged. It made me realize that I’m not alone in this journey and that lots of other women have survived and even thrived becoming moms.

I’m so used to being super independent and free spirited, and it’s been good for me to accept and ask for help and encouragement. Speaking of that, I joined the Home-Based Working Moms network. I’ll keep posting updates about how it works out.

Meanwhile, Operation Get Baby Out continues. I’ve tried everything: pineapple, eggplant, jumping jacks, more pineapple, more jumping jacks. E. and I got it on three times (count it: 3!!) yesterday, which was awesome, but still no baby. She seems pretty comfortable in there. I’m happy she’s comfy… meanwhile, I feel like I have a walrus growing on my front body and all I want to do is fit in my skinny jeans and go for a run.

Sigh. Meanwhile, I can look at her super cute ultrasound picture and hope she’ll make her appearance soon.

Looks like she's got her daddy's face!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 912 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

