My creative quiet

Leave a comment

January 15, 2015 by Sarah Christine Bolton

Written June 5, 2011

Sometimes, I feel
like my life has
become the monotony
of repetition.

Dust, gathered on
booksbedstablesshelves
doorswallsfloors
replicates at
night.

And taunts me
in the daylight, slipping up into
my nose with
grubby tendrils.

I miss those days
of finishedness.

Of completion.

I want just one
day that doesn’t
feel
trailing
dripping
off the edge of
the counter like
dirty dishwater.

Dishes.

Those fucking dishes.
They replicate, too.
More like breed.

All the things I want to do

Buffalo jump

get tangled with
everything I
should do.

It’s like a wrestling match.

My life. These days.

Wrestling the baby.

Maneuvering my
time like a
sweaty, slippery
snake.

Most days, my
time wins… or
is it loses…?
the battle with my
to-do list. And then
I’m left. Sinking.
Sighing. Stressing.

Mini cities of frozen
people.

How lovely to be
frozen in time…
frozen in a moment
a moment that
stretches
into forever.

In that moment,
you see time
change all
around you.

But there you
are.
Frozen.
Forced to see every
detail. Forced to
count the tiles.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 912 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

